At a recent event, organisers were surprised to see two results for two competitors (let’s call them Alpha and Beta) where Alpha and Beta were shown as both mis-punching and finishing successfully – how did this happen?

When Alpha and Beta initially finished, both had missed the final control, so the organiser allowed them to return to the map and punch the final control (and finish control) and download again. For major events, this would not be allowed – rule 23.1 states “The competition ends for a competitor when crossing the finishing line”, but as this was a low-key competition, the rule was relaxed so that Alpha and Beta could complete their courses.

SITiming normally gives you a message something like “This card has already been downloaded” if you attempt to download it more than once, but when comparing downloads, SITiming compares the current download for the card with the previous download (i.e. it compares the complete download and not just the SI-Card number), so for Alpha and Beta their downloads differed (i.e. the last control was missing from their first download when compared to their second download), and from SITiming’s point of view they were different downloads. As the event allowed re-use of SI-cards (this is an option in SPORTIdent Settings when setting up or modifying an event), two results were recorded for both Alpha and Beta (a mis-punch and a successful run). Note that where you might allow re-use of SI cards for local competitions, re-use should not be allowed for major competitions (and this should be noted in the race instructions).

There are two ways of dealing with the situation described above:

Select the mis-punch entry from the entry list and click on X Delete at the top of the page, but don’t check the “Delete all attached downloads as well (else leave as unidentified)?” box that comes up after clicking on X Delete.
Select the mis-punch entry from the entry list and click on X Delete, but do check the “Delete all attached downloads as well (else leave as unidentified)?” box.

With option 1, the entry goes to the “unidentified” pool (Entries>Unidentified Download Allocation), where you can edit the details (for example assign another name to the result if the card was in fact used by two different competitors). With option 2, the compete entry is deleted. In both instances, the other download (e.g. the download that showed a successful run) is maintained.